Mental Illness Artshow – May 19, 2017

Photos of the installation I created for my first art show at The Brown Building. The topic of the night was mental illness. The installation is called Alter for My Anxiety & The Depression Chair. The sculpture is called Drowning. The installation includes screen printed,hand painted, bleached and distressed garments, hand painted and sewn pennants, wheel thrown ceramics, and hand drawn stickers. At the end of the evening I ended up selling the Crybaby pennant(chain included) and the little germ on the alter with the wheel thrown pot. I chose to put plants on the altar because having plants in your home and help decrease stress and purify the air. I’ve personally found that caring for and watching plants grow has been beneficial to my mental health.
 

Leave a Reply

